And, so

Like you all, I face situations in real life, nearly every day that test my beliefs, and my morals. Increasingly, as I get older, I do better. Learning more all the time, and being perhaps more rational, maybe, I don’t really know. But, a few situations have faced me lately in which I am very disappointed in my responses.

And so, I’m going to take some time and re-evaluate how I managed to screw up so badly something I cared so much about.

The two snippets below will be all the explanation I’m willing to give. First from TS Eliot’s Little Gidding.

First, the cold fricton of expiring sense
Without enchantment, offering no promise
But bitter tastelessness of shadow fruit
As body and sould begin to fall asunder.
Second, the conscious impotence of rage
At human folly, and the laceration
Of laughter at what ceases to amuse.
And last, the rending pain of re-enactment
Of all that you have done, and been; the shame
Of things ill done and done to others’ harm
Which once you took for exercise of virtue.
Then fools’ approval stings, and honour stains.
From wrong to wrong the exasperated spirit
Proceeds, unless restored by that refining fire
Where you must move in measure, like a dancer.”
The day was breaking. In the disfigured street
He left me, with a kind of valediction,
And faded on the blowing of the horn.

And then from the Book of Sirach, Chapter 13

13 He that toucheth pitch, shall be defiled with it: and he that hath fellowship with the proud, shall put on pride.

He shall take a burden upon him that hath fellowship with one more honourable than himself. And have no fellowship with one that is richer than thyself.

What agreement shall the earthen pot have with the kettle? for if they knock one against the other, it shall be broken.

The rich man hath done wrong, and yet he will fume: but the poor is wronged and must hold his peace.

If thou give, he will make use of thee: and if thou have nothing, he will forsake thee.

If thou have any thing, he will live with thee, and will make thee bare, and he will not be sorry for thee.

If he have need of thee he will deceive thee, and smiling upon thee will put thee in hope; he will speak thee fair, and will say: What wantest thou?

And he will shame thee by his meats, till he have drawn thee dry twice or thrice, and at last he will laugh at thee: and afterward when he seeth thee, he will forsake thee, and shake his head at thee.

Humble thyself to God, and wait for his hands.

10 Beware that thou be not deceived Into folly, and be humbled.

11 Be not lowly in thy wisdom, lest being humbled thou be deceived into folly.

12 If thou be invited by one that is mightier, withdraw thyself: for so he will invite thee the more.

13 Be not troublesome to him, lest thou be put back: and keep not far from him, lest thou be forgotten.

14 Affect not to speak with him as an equal: and believe not his many words: for by much talk he will sift thee, and smiling will examine thee concerning thy secrets.

15 His cruel mind will lay up thy words: and he will not spare to do thee hurt, and to cast thee into prison.

16 Take heed to thyself, and attend diligently to what thou hearest: for thou walkest in danger of thy ruin.

17 When thou hearest those things, see as it were in sleep, and thou shalt awake.

18 Love God all thy life, and call upon him for thy salvation.

19 Every beast loveth its like: so also every man him that is nearest to himself.

20 All flesh shall consort with the like to itself, and every man shall associate himself to his like.

21 If the wolf shall at any time have fellowship with the lamb, so the sinner with the just.

22 What fellowship hath a holy man with a dog, or what part hath the rich with the poor?

23 The wild ass is the lion’s prey in the desert: so also the poor are devoured by the rich.

24 And as humility is an abomination to the proud: so also the rich man abhorreth the poor.

25 When a rich man is shaken, he is kept up by his friends: but when a poor man is fallen down, he is thrust away even by his acquaintance.

26 When a rich man hath been deceived, he hath many helpers: he hath spoken proud things, and they have justified him.

27 The poor man was deceived, and he is rebuked also: he hath spoken wisely, and could have no place.

28 The rich man spoke, and all held their peace, and what he said they extol even to the clouds.

29 The poor man spoke, and they say: Who is this? and if he stumble, they will overthrow him.

30 Riches are good to him that hath no sin in his conscience: and poverty is very wicked in the mouth of the ungodly.

31 The heart of a man changeth his countenance, either for good, or for evil.

32 The token of a good heart, and a good countenance thou shalt hardly find, and with labour.

I need some concentrated thought and study, if my words going forward are to have any value. See you all soon.

 

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

24 Responses to And, so

  1. the unit says:

    Since I’m not sure what to make of this, nor to make light of whatever is happening (train wreck picture?).
    I’ll wish you a happy birthday a week early in case you’re away on break for a while. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Doesn’t surprise me that you can’t, cause I can’t either. Nothing to do with anything on the internet though.

      Thanks, we’ll have to see how it works out. But I doubt that I’m done. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        I really wasn’t thinking in terms of your being “done.”
        I was thinking more like sabbatical, for “concentrated thought and study”, then I remembered sabbatical gets paid leave. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yeah, well, I guess I’ll get paid as well on sabbatical, as I do for writing this, at least! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          “Nothing to do with anything on the internet though.” Whew! I was afraid you’d been brought up on charges by the AG’s for blogging the truth openly on the WWW.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Not yet, but don’t give ’em any ideas! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Ya! Like in the joke…Father, my lips are sealed!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yepper! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. the unit says:

    I was just reading up on sabbaticals. It was mentioned they happen in seven year cycles. So need could be due to climate change, sorta like the seven year itch I guess.
    Then again current problems and train wrecks could be because of holes in the sun.
    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2016-04-01/holes-in-the-sun-are-threatening-to-throw-birds-gps-off-course
    Doesn’t seem to affect migrating refugees. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Nah, except to make them think they should head north. Maybe to cool down some! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        I read some immigrates heading back south, don’t like the cool. Old movie…’Some Like It Hot.’
        I think that movie was about ’59 or so. After a friend of mine and I went to see it, his mother said some like it anyway they can get it. I think too many staying immigrated with that attitude. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          LOL 🙂

          Like

  3. Sending a friendship hug your way and praying the Good Lord will give you wisdom in your situation.

    Liked by 2 people

    • NEO says:

      Thanks for the hug, they’re always needed. He will, the situation will work out, I think, and in truth, it almost was much worse, so it’s partly to learn the lessons correctly, so I don’t make the same mistakes again. Thanks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Liked by 2 people

  4. the unit says:

    I know I’ve been rather whimsical in comments today,… well amusing to me. But as you say had those train crashes too.
    And as you said…”I need some concentrated thought and study, if my words going forward are to have any value. See you all soon.”
    Try this…”You’re brilliant? Say something in algebra.”–Phil Silvers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • the unit says:

      That quote especially meaningful to me. Old friend retired SeaBee, heavy equipment operator, and now nearly retired city civil service heavy equipment operator said to me how could anyone understand algebra, a+b = xyz, it’s all bs to me. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, if we are true Christians, we will always face that reality of being “restored by that refining fire”! But, life does rock on until the Bema-Seat of Christ.

    Like

  6. Pingback: My Article Read (4-10-2016) – My Daily Musing

  7. the unit says:

    I can see clearly now, the rain is gone,
    I can see all obstacles in my way
    Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind
    It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
    Sun-Shiny day.

    I think I can make it now, the pain is gone
    All of the bad feelings have disappeared
    Here is the rainbow I’ve been praying’ for
    It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
    Sun-Shiny day.

    Look all around, there’s nothing’ but blue skies
    Look straight ahead, nothing’ but blue skies.

    And I hope on this new day the railroad crane lifted all the wrecked cars back on track, or at least on the job site.
    Certainly sounded like a crane ready job. 🙂 Best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Thanks, Unit! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. the unit says:

    I’ve ignored all the political and terrorist news today to alleviate depression, which I don’t even mention to my doctor about so as to be recorded in my medical records for government snoops.
    So in my jovial manner I just forward this… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • the unit says:

      P.S. Not condoning what was displayed in the video. A few old men that it seems their lives got along fine with pot. Even said in song they didn’t want no pills. Willie thought he’d found a girl only to see her making eyes at Merle. 🙂
      I unfortunately for about the last10 years of a long career I got to see another spectrum or side of addiction which started off with maybe a few drags of pot or a few sips of whiskey. Not sure what was the weak link, family, culture, maybe genes. Methamphetamines, I saw so many lives shattered from use. Young’uns whose family who couldn’t or wouldn’t see to the childs welfare. And government agencies that could not do any better.
      I have no answers.

      Liked by 1 person

      • NEO says:

        Yep, they were bad news, alright!

        Like

Leave a Reply

