Saturday Morning: 60s Music Style

It’s Saturday, so let’s relax. I ran across some of my old favorites, so I thought I’d share.

Of course we have to start with my first girl singer crush, Petula Clark. Some things never change in my favorites.

If you’re old enough I’ll bet you remember how our music came from all over the world, so we’ll jump from England to Australia.

The guys were one of my favorites for a while.

These guys I had breakfast with one night after the bar closed, ‘The Region’ was a good place to be.

And then, of course, there is my all time favorite piece of popular music.

Enjoy, and have a great day!!

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

33 Responses to Saturday Morning: 60s Music Style

  1. OyiaBrown says:

    Reblogged this on Oyia Brown.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Btw, just a historical point, but I believe Petula is in her early 80’s now? and is part Welsh. Us boomers and silent generation are getting older!

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      I think she is, and still going. By the way, she also recorded a duet with Vera Lynn during World War II. Quite a story, hers is! 🙂

      Like

    • the unit says:

      Hey, who you calling older? I just read article that old age doesn’t begin until 85 these days. I soaked it in Blue Emu and rubbing all over my body. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • NEO says:

        Hah! Neither of us is all that far behind, Gramps! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          “Neither of us” yeah you and Fr. Robert remember that. 🙂
          I applaud Fr. remembering I being of the Silent Generation. Still a little… though not far behind.
          Liked your music memories. I could add a little more “Silent Generation” flavor.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          There’ll be more Saturday Specials most likely. I enjoy them! 🙂

          Like

        • Btw, one of my early lovers was of the Silent Generation, though she was hardly silent! Wow was she beautiful! And had five or six years on me. 😉 Aye I wasn’t born a Christian, but by grace became one.

          Liked by 2 people

        • NEO says:

          😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • Yes, they do bring back old memories! BC days, i.e. before Christ! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Yeah. I was a paper boy who collected on Saturday morning. She said afterwards…and what did you say my bill is? Better not tell the details. I did deficit spending the next week to get my papers to deliver. Pretty soon I was bankrupt.
          And a song still playing in my youth and in Abbott & Costello movie.
          http://www.tcm.com/mediaroom/video/290205/Buck-Privates-Movie-Clip-Boogie-Woogie-Bugle-Boy.html

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, amazing how many thought they could earn the light bill while we were collecting! 😉

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Lessons learned. And before you know, it get to feeling good. You simply got no choice. Learn it.

          Liked by 2 people

        • This lass was 23 and an American, and I was 17 (I was a mature lad for the time), she was in the USAF stationed in the UK. An Air Force female medic. Again, WOW! I still have her picture, she was a doll! And yes, later we had some love letters. But I went into the RMC’s, and lost touch… that was one that got away! But, then much later too my wife came by providence, and I am still in love deeply so with her, i.e. my wife!

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Congratulations Fr. You still got a picture of a corpseman. 🙂 Other than O’s comments not even knowing how to pronounce it, I would consider that admirable. If he did, you would have to revive me with a breathalyzer.

          Like

        • If I could figure out how to put her picture up? She was beautiful! A sort of dark or dirty-blond haired beauty, and what a figure.. lean but solid in the right places, with long legs! (5’7 as I remember?) But very feminine and classy! Indeed thank God for the beauty of women, their heart, soul and body!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Btw, I dated an American Navy-Corps-Wave (female Corpsman) in Hawaii from the Ford Island Naval Hospital, this was in 1969, and right after my Nam tour. Whew, she was physical to say the least, a Southern girl! Aye lots of memories in that period and time of my life! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Dang Fr. I’m getting that B. C. means before Cosby. Just kidding. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Yes, if GOD singles out our sexual sins, especially us men, we will be toast, BC or IC (In Christ). Though of course the latter falls into a much different category! And that is a longer discussion!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. A great group of songs NEO. I remember all but the song on “Susan”. This is the first time I heard it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Probably wasn’t as popular, but it’s one I always liked! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • It is a pretty song, :).

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          It is, indeed! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

    • Nice that the females always seem to stay closer to the track of the subject! Btw we men have been losing the battle for the sex’s for quite some time, perhaps all the way back to the Garden!

      Liked by 2 people

      • I would say so about the Garden, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Indeed Adam was responsible for Eve, and he also blew it, and then tried to blame God, “The woman whom you [God] gave to be with me, she gave me from the tree, and I ate.” (Gen. 3: 12) But of course both were responsible, but Adam was not deceived, as was Eve (Gen. 3: 13). See also 1 Tim. 2: 14, but Adam was the Head, and the ultimate responsibility fell on him! Before GOD its still a man’s world! (1 Tim. 2: 13)

          Liked by 2 people

        • 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • A Judeo-Christian married man’s responsibility especially! But Eve is equal before God certainly … “if they continue in faith and charity (love) and holiness with sobriety.” (1 Tim. 3: 15) The shared responsibility of marriage!

          Liked by 2 people

        • Sadly but surely the roles of man and woman in marriage are being hammered by the world of modernity & postmodernity today, the Church is today losing the culture wars!

          Liked by 1 person

  4. the unit says:

    There is a new gardener in town…
    Having already downed a few power drinks, she turns around, faces him, looks him straight in the eye and says,
    “Listen here, good looking. I will screw anybody, anytime, anywhere, their place, my place, in the car, front door, back door, on the ground,
    standing up, sitting down, naked or with clothes on… It doesn’t matter to me. I just love it.”
    His eyes now wide with interest, he responds, “No kidding… I’m in government too. Are you federal or state?”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Adultery and Fornication are metaphors in the OT and the New for the loss of faithfulness to God! And we in the West are losing both God and Country here! We are killing ourselves with secularism!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. the unit says:

    I tried to make it to midnight central time, can’t do it. But my daughter is in Ormond Beach eastern time at midnight, I do sent my love to her on her time. NEO you have to settle for that time too.

    Well I’m the shade tree fix it man
    I’ll light your candles if I can
    Your birthday is remembered
    Hope by no one you’ll be dismembered

    I’ll take a Willie drag
    Pull up a lovely hag
    And see what hot end
    Gets the wicks ignited

    Have a lovely day
    We be all united
    ‘Til we can safely gather
    You know where…Downtown!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: My Article Read (4-16-2016) – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

