Spring Cleaning

woman_spring_cleaning1Time to do a bit of spring cleaning. I keep finding far more things that would make good posts than I ever have time to write about, so here are some of them.

You and your monkey brain.

Our friend, and our enemy: Time, itself.

Why is productivity so low?

Why Apple is so annoying.

Do we want high-paying manufacturing job? Maybe we should learn from Indiana.

How the way we teach American History got so screwed up, and how to fix it.

What made Ronald Reagan great.

Mr. Lincoln goes to London, or does he?

David Cameron loses the plot, or did he ever know it?

Love Game of Thrones? Then you must love history whether you know it or not.

Suzannah Lipscomb tells you how it is recycled British history, mostly!

And the Irish, sensible folk that they are, are building a statue of the Duke, and Maureen O’Hara, as they appeared in our favorite movie: The Quiet Man.

And finally, quit whining, nobody owes you a job or anything else!

 

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

18 Responses to Spring Cleaning

  1. the unit says:

    Glad to hear you keep finding topics of interest to blog about. Couple of sites I visit are complaining they can’t find enough to create a post upon. I think what more can be said about crony capitalism, corruption, criminal behavior, mass invasion, murder and mass murder, and etc.? And how much more do I want to listen to or read about anyway?
    Diversity? As to interesting topics, I enjoy finding here. Often a welcome break from what I’m tired of reading or thinking about anyway. But plenty to make one think here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      That’s the thing sometimes, I get to sounding like a broken record, and yes, I do remember them. 🙂 Not a good thing to do, but I haven’t found the end of the inetrnet, yet! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        “Haven’t found the end of the internet, yet.” That’s funny to think about. Surely Al won’t let that happen! How could they keep all us scared?
        Yesterday at a site it was blogged that certain politicians were in the crosshairs of investigation by the FBI. Remember that how that reference went a few years ago? Well, it was politicians under the crosshairs of voters in ads.
        I guess crosshairs should have had me to think of ‘American Sniper.’ However it made me think of Patton in the 1912 Olympics.
        He who didn’t even need crosshairs. Short, short on story. He who sent bullet through target hole made by previous bullet. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, and the judge couldn’t figure it out, so he got silver, instead of gold, in the modern military pentathlon.

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          And I read he graciously accepted the authority of the Olympic judges decision …he said like a good soldier should. He knew where the bullet went though. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          That’s the way I remember it, as well. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Dang you remember, you were there with us as well? And with us with Napoleon too? 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Heck, I was there at the fall of Carthage with you. 🙂

          THROUGH A GLASS, DARKLY
          by Gen. George S. Patton, Jr.

          Through the travail of the ages,
          Midst the pomp and toil of war,
          Have I fought and strove and perished
          Countless times upon this star.

          In the form of many people
          In all panoplies of time
          Have I seen the luring vision
          Of the Victory Maid, sublime.

          I have battled for fresh mammoth,
          I have warred for pastures new,
          I have listed to the whispers
          When the race trek instinct grew.

          http://www.generalpatton.com/quotes/index4.html

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Well so, yep my visions are not clear, but still have a purpose as was The Plan. I don’t hardly at any time understand, like i.e. the slaughter of those Christians and others we see now or in the past. But maybe they will become clearer as Patton said. But I’ll still just take it one day at a time.
          I guess he believed in reincarnation. I read of some other famous persons who did, i.e. Thomas Edison. Predestination probably fits there too, as some friends were of that faith.
          I guess in my life i have not had to think I had all the answers. I stop, look, listen before crossing the street. No street signals embedded in the sidewalk here. I don’t walk, text, and chew at the same time. Chew…that’s tobacco. Fine levied to spit. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          🙂

          Like

  2. the unit says:

    A weekend thought. John Wayne attributed to a racist comment some nearly 50 years ago. What were the songs he sang in the movies? And did he ever really? Led to some interesting information and comments.
    Well, I determined he didn’t ever sing…’Uh Eeh Uh Ah Ah Ting Tang Walla Walla Bing Bang !’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Nope he didn’t, but other than that, you got me! Maybe Jess knows! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        The research was interesting. Maybe Gene Autry dubbed over in some early movies. Then some comments say he growled out a few phrases in Rooster Coburn and The Shootist that might be called song. 🙂 I’ll have to listen better.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Not that I remember, but most anything is possible, I suppose. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Lot’s of rewriting of everything going on. Seems nothing sacrosanct about truth and reality for some folks. lol

          Like

  3. Pingback: My Article Read (4-29-2016) (4-30-2016) – My Daily Musing

  4. Pingback: My Article Read (4-29-2016) (4-30-2016) – My Daily Musing – Br Andrew's Muses

  5. Pingback: My Article Read (4-29-2016) (4-30-2016) – My Daily Musing | franciscansonthemountains

Leave a Reply

