The Stupidest Thing on the Internet

5002I was going to pass up this story, it’s essentially published bullshit, but found enough commentary from others to at least make it funny. Yes, I know it’s not kind to point at others and laugh, but I’m inclined to think it’s alright when they take wrong information tie it together with lies and expect to convince anybody. Case in point, from The Victory Girls.

After firing the AR-15, NY Daily News columnist Gersh Kuntzman is terrified – of the gun

by JENNY NORTH on JUNE 14, 2016

VG readers, it is hard to believe that any self-respecting person, much less someone who identifies as male, would actually publish a confessional like this: Firing an AR-15 is horrifying, menacing, and very very loud.

It feels like a bazooka — and sounds like a cannon.

Gersh Kuntzman, an award winning journalist at NY Daily Mail, is curious, and with all the talk about the big bad weapons of war in the news, he thought he should go try them out for himself.

Gersh_kuntzman_2015

Gersh Kuntzman, not a fan of the AR-15

But that is not the first reason he cited for trying out the AR-15 – what he said was this:

One day after 49 people were killed in the Orlando shooting, I traveled to Philadelphia to better understand the firepower of military-style assault weapons and, hopefully, explain their appeal to gun lovers.

So that’s what drives him to the range – seeing how it would feel to be a murderer?

Even in semi-automatic mode, it is very simple to squeeze off two dozen rounds before you even know what has happened. In fully automatic mode, it doesn’t take any imagination to see dozens of bodies falling in front of your barrel.

All it takes is the will to do it.

Forty nine people can be gone in 60 seconds.

Hey, that’s why I go the range, don’t you?

But what old Gersh finds out is that it is the gun itself – not the person behind it – that terrifies him:

I’ve shot pistols before, but never something like an AR-15. Squeeze lightly on the trigger and the resulting explosion of firepower is humbling and deafening (even with ear protection).

The recoil bruised my shoulder. The brass shell casings disoriented me as they flew past my face. The smell of sulfur and destruction made me sick. The explosions — loud like a bomb — gave me a temporary case of PTSD. For at least an hour after firing the gun just a few times, I was anxious and irritable.

Ahhh, deep breath. Warning, readers, some profanity does follow.

Gersh, I have to speak to you directly. You are a complete moron. I have to question what “pistols” you’ve shot before. They were water pistols weren’t they?! Can’t have been more than a .22 for you to have such a big surprise upon shooting some real ammunition.

Via After firing the AR-15, NY Daily News columnist Gersh Kuntzman is terrified – of the gun. Do read the whole thing™, I laughed till I cried, and I also cried until I laughed. It’s that kind of story.

I’m like anybody else who grew up in the country, I started shooting as a kid, with a Daisy BB gun, and occasional lessons on Dad’s .410 bolt action shotgun, starting at, heck I don’t know, 7 maybe. Never could shoot that particular gun well, but did OK with the bolt action .22 I got for my 10th birthday. Being a responsible kid had its rewards, I also got a new (used) lawnmower. 🙂 Both were mine to use as I saw fit, to take care of, and to be responsible with. (The mower was actually far more dangerous in my hands than the rifle).

But .223 Remington that the AR 15 fires a very nice mild round, that’s why we all like it so much, it’s a perfect round, and the AR 15 itself, is nearly a perfect rifle for what I tend to call a ranch gun. The one we drag around with us out on the ranch, for snakes, coyotes, perhaps the occasional calf that has to be put down, whatever. Rather like the Winchester that our Grandfathers carried on the saddle, except it’s a lot tougher, and better in almost every way. Kind of like the Leatherman we also carry around.

For me, at least, it’s marginal for anything else, multiple rounds well, placed, will work, but you may or may not have time. That’s when it time to go what we used to call battle rifles, M1s, M1As, Springfields, and such. I find it interesting that all of those rifles, including the Winchester’s daddy, the Henry, started out with the US Army. They, unlike the AR 15, can bruise your shoulder, they can also get the job done on anything in North America. Yes, they’re fun too. But they cost more, are noisier, and more expensive (last I looked) to feed. And truthfully, in a semi rural setting, they’re likely more powerful than is warranted, albeit a whole lot better than nothing, but not what I’d buy for rural self-defense, either.

So maybe when whatshername up above gets her (child-size) knickers untwisted, (s)he can go back to reviewing frappes or whatever he does to supposedly justify his income. He sure has no insight to be sharing on the affairs of men.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

17 Responses to The Stupidest Thing on the Internet

  1. the unit says:

    If he bruised his shoulder it’s from jamming his head so far up his butt so as to collide his shoulder with his pelvic bone causing blunt force trauma. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      That about covers it! 🙂 LOL

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Amen with Unit and NEO! Wow what a piece of pure ignorance! Indeed morally and intellectually, Liberals are hell bound like a freight-train!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Faith says:

    I read both articles. And also Gersh’s follow-up response to his critics. It’s a worth a read. http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/gun-lovers-opinion-assault-rifles-article-1.2674555
    I’ll hold my opinion, since it really doesn’t matter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Hi Faith, yes, I read it too. Frankly it struck me as a waffle. I will say this, it’s a shame that things like this get so partisan.

      I note that the Brits are doing the same thing with the murder of that MP, Jo Cox, who sounds like a very decent woman. Shame the way we treat these things anymore. I include me in that, and that’s why I usually ignore this sort of story, but sometimes …

      Liked by 1 person

      • Faith says:

        I think both “sides” have merit. It’s such a weird dynamic, when merely disagreeing or saying something moderately non-PC or too-PC gets you throttled by others. Whatever happened to sane and even discourse? It’s a mad world, when simply having a viewpoint gets you figuratively crucified on the Internet.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yes, it is. My problem with his reaction was how overblown it was. A bazooka? Really? Comparing an AR 15 to that is like comparing a grape to a watermelon.

          I have no problem with non-shooters, many in my family, and if I had grown up in the city, I’d likely be one of them. I don’t see why we can’t all be rational either, for all that.

          Liked by 2 people

        • Faith says:

          Hyperbole has its place, however I agree, it was a little overblown.
          Rationality, unfortunately, seems to be out of vogue.
          🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          It sure does, and we are the worse for it! 🙂

          And heavens don’t be afraid to disagree with me, I could stand to learn something now and again. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Faith says:

          I will keep that in mind for next time!

          I don’t have a well-formed opinion on the subject to either agree or disagree, so I usually don’t offer up an opinion at all. My experience with guns is extremely limited. My husband has two shotguns and a hunting rifle, but he was brought up in the country. I was brought up in upper middle-class suburbia 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          That’s often the difference. I was brought up with them, although I’ve never been much of a hunter, and I simply enjoy shooting, and love the engineering. 🙂

          But as I have often said, if you’re not willing to use it in a defense setting, you shouldn’t take it out of the safe.

          Like

        • Faith says:

          I’ve requested my husband to teach me how to shoot our guns, on a “just in case” basis. He keeps them under the bed in case of an intruder; he’s very paranoid but his old neighborhood was crime-ridden. I feel I should also note that we have no children and the guns are always unloaded lol.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I always think that’s a good idea. Don’t be surprised if you end up enjoying shooting them, I’ve known a lot of women/girls get surprised. It’s fun, and a good challenge. 🙂

          A quick note, you’re probably OK here, but don’t go around advertising where he keeps them, nobody’s business but yours. I’m a bit paranoid, as well. But even paranoids have enemies.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Faith says:

          Duly noted 🙂 I typically forget we have them; hopefully this comment will get forever lost on the internet.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I think it will, or I would have edited it. If nothing else, it tends to invite robbery. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Indeed the 5.56 or.223 in civilian, is basically just a very hot .22 round, no bazooka here!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    In some comment sections I’ve been reading about “snowflakes.” I’m guessing they are young, immature, dependent and maybe Millennials. Noticed Drudge link that AR-15’s flying off the shelves. Imagine a snowflake trying to return his/her AR for money back after reading Kuntzman’s article…there’s something wrong with it. It doesn’t feel like a bazooka, sound like a cannon, my shoulder isn’t bruised, and I don’t have PTSD. And besides that I got to pull the trigger for each shot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

