Gays, the Left, Terrorism, and a bit on Oil

w1056We’ve been talking most of the week about gays and conservatives, in a political context. You can find those articles here, here, and here. And yes, I am always very grateful when Jessica chimes in on these matters, I’m an old fuddy-duddy sometimes and a younger (and female, not to mention British) perspective helps quite a lot.

As Jessica said the other day, we are not discussing this as a religious matter. The US, particularly, long ago decided that while most of our citizens are Christians, and a plurality quite strong ones, our government is, and was meant to be, secular, although Christian belief and principles lie at its heart.

Not the least of these is the right to worship (or not worship) as you please. That’s one reason it’s quite difficult for me, and hopefully for many of you to consider Islam as our enemy. They have just as much right to worship Allah, as we have our triune God, or for that matter, as many of our citizens do, to worship ‘the God’s of the Marketplace’.

Radical Islamists are another story, however. They have indisputably (unless you’re a leftist, I guess) made it clear that they are an enemy of our culture. If we are wise, we will recognize both that they are, and act on it. Yes, the world is a complicated place, and not prone to useful over-simplification very often.

The ad that leads this article makes a valid point. I found it both funny and profound, and I found the leftist hysteria that resulted from it even funnier. I haven’t heard even the most radical Christian say that we should be killing gays, have you? Didn’t think so. And that is the difference between Christian and radical Islamist – they do so advocate, and they do so act.

That leaves the question hanging as to why the left insists on propping up the Saudi (and other) fundamentalist Islamic regimes. Canada and the United States have it within our power to impoverish all of these states, to the point they would go back to being the irrelevant hellholes they were when the United States was founded. And make a profit doing it, just like we did with the Soviets.

In fact, the very people that first protested that ad were exactly the same people who killed the Keystone Pipeline. Leaves me wondering if they are simply against progress or against western civilization. Wonder if Jane Kleeb would like to answer that question, since it has cost our joint state of Nebraska several million dollars, just in the construction phase.

So, I can only conclude that those people consider it perfectly fine to kill gays, and support radical Islamists. After all, where I grew up, actions speak louder than words. Of course, as Jessica said the other day, leftists think of various groups as ‘brands’ (check out those WikiLeaks emails for more on this) and like some other mass marketers will say one thing to one group and quite the opposite to another. That’s why for those of us who pay attention, they long ago lost any credibility they ever had. Not the first brand to kill itself off that way, and I doubt it will be the last either.

Of course, none of this is new for the left, in either Britain or America (likely in all of Europe, but I don’t know as much about that). Radical Islam is hardly the first mass-murderer that the left has made an icon of, witness Castro’s executioner, Che Guevara, who the left has made an icon out of, as well as others. Here, find out a bit more about him, and see if you think he is an appropriate hero for anybody who values life, let alone freedom. Hat tip to The Daly Gator.

You’ll excuse me while I wash my mind of the thought of who some of my countrymen think are heroes.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

16 Responses to Gays, the Left, Terrorism, and a bit on Oil

  1. the unit says:

    What struck me in Jessica’s post was mentioning how other religious taboos have been cast aside over time. Heck, you know the Federal Reserve is becoming more adherently bibical as it has nearly done away with interest rates and some institutions going negative rates.
    Another linked author recently described various factions as tribes. Now the gay tribe doesn’t attract me a bit. I keep my distance as I don’t want one falling on me before hitting the ground after being tossed off a rooftop. And I wish my life time savings account was still drawing 5% interest as it was 10 years ago. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      It did me, as well, and she was, as usual, right. Could be worse, in Europe they charge you to use your money. I’ve known some in the gay tribe, both male and female, and mostly, I like them, other than who they want to sleep with, they’re mostly normal. The loud leftist ones being an exception, but that’s true for almost all leftists! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Let me put this right. I’ve seen so many comments (not here, but younder) as to…”I have friends among THOSE people (various tribes)and I don’t discriminate.” And then the commenter not taken seriously and is attacked. Anyway I’ve had a dear friend who is gay for nearly 50 years. I’ve known his partner for as long as well. I’m sure both are monogamous. Neither has ever tried to enlist me in their style. And I’ve met others in my line of work. None seemed rude or obnoxious in everyday dealings. As I said though I don’t put myself out looking to go where they may associate with others so inclined.
        If anyone let’s me live, I let them live. Not that I’m as comfortable as when collecting interest. Radical terrorists (of any tribe),… another matter all together.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Exactly, it’s a cliche, and for that reason I rarely say it. But cliches are cliches because they are often true. So it is here, my friends figured out quickly that while I wasn’t open to their interests, other than that, well, ‘who cares’? Live and let live. I like interest myself, when I’m earning it, not so much when I’m paying it. Seems like Ben Franklin had some thoughts on this.

          Yep, radical terrorists, of any tribe, are another kettle of (rank) fish, altogether.

          Liked by 1 person

        • As a pastor and something of a “theolog”, I disagree with the idea that human sexuality, and especially homosexuality, are just do as you wish today, which is the attitude taken here, in my opinion. Indeed there are NOT two compartments or divisions in true Christianity! And surely old Ben Franklin does not stand-up well towards Biblical Christianity either.

          Btw, note Revelation 22: 14-15! Indeed Jesus takes human sexuality as most important!

          Like

        • Btw, I like the basic old Franklin, and though surely a devout Freemason, he was no doubt closer to aspects of human nature than we are generally today. When he wrote Thomas Jefferson in a letter concerning the Constitutional Convention, he said: “If it does not do good it will do harm, as it will show that we have not the wisdom enough among us to govern ourselves.” And yes, it sure appears that we are losing this ability of self judgment in the West today. And as I have said over and over, Gentile Apostasy is surely among us!

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Yes Sir. “Outside” is a keyword. I’ll let them stay there, outside, as best I can and let God sort them out when time comes. Meanwhile I watch out that none mentioned fall on my head.
          And Fr. Robert can you recommend a website that will give the low down on Freemasons to the best of your thoughts and beliefs? Maybe one as I don’t want to search all of them that might be googled up, many, many pages I bet.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Well Unit, here is a copy of part of one my own blogs … Freemasonry and Speculative Science & Philosophy

          I have a copy of the old American Hertel Family Bible (the Blue Ribbon Blue, 1951/55 Bible) Cyclopedic Indexed, of course the KJV, and the Masonic Edition, 954 pages not counting the colored maps. Btw the Christian scholars for the Hertel Bible were P.B. Fitzwater, DD, Ira M. Price, Ph.D., LL.D., and C.P. Roney, D.D. I am familiar and have read some of Price. And they (the publishers, Hertel, etc.) simply added the Mason notes in the front of the Bible: The Building of Solomon’s Temple ; Free and Accepted Masonry, with questions and answers. And the Alphabetical and Cyclopedic Index to the Holy Bible, Concerning the Work of Freemasonry ; Compiled and arranged by C.H. Stauffacher, D.D., L.L. D. and Charles P. Roney, D.D.

          “Freemasonry is a system of morality developed and inculcated by the science of symbolism. It is this peculiar character as a symbolic institution, this almost exclusive adoption of the method of instruction by symbolism, which gives its whole identity to Freemasonry…” “Freemasonry was founded as a speculative science on an operative art. It therefore took the working tools of the profession which it spiritualizes, and made them the symbols for the communication of instruction of the mysteries of the Order.”

          If you can find a copy on-line, or get a used copy as I did, it is worth the historical read!

          Yours In Christ,
          Fr. Robert

          PS.. My own opinion is that George Washington was somewhat a biblical type Christian, himself an Anglican or Episcopal, but a devout Mason for sure! He used to read his Bible in the fields on his farm, and surely believed in the great providence of God. As president, see his Christian Prayers, that have been published.

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Thanks Fr. Robert. I knew your thoughts and beliefs would be well documented and researched and save me lots of time. Of course I’m friends with THOSE people, not always even knowing they are Freemasons, but I never knew or learned much about them. I’ll look up some of your references and in the meantime will not discriminate. 🙂

          Like

        • Unit:, Yes, I am generally friendly with the best of Freemasonry, my one Irish grandfather (WW 1 Vet.) left Catholicism after that War, and became simply a Deist as he said. But, there are poor examples of Masonry in history also! Noting many of the Mormons were Masons, etc. But, I am sure God does often overlook many of our ignorant and stupid ways, at least the one’s that do not encroach HIS absolutes as GOD In Christ! For Christ Himself will be the final judge! (John 12: 48-50)

          *Btw, oftentimes we MUST judge, what is of and from God, and what is not! We are called to make moral and spiritual decisions! “A person’s steps are directed by the Lord. How then can anyone understand their own way?” (Prov. 20: 24) “The human spirit is the lamp of the Lord that sheds light on one’s inmost being.” (Prov. 20: 27)… “Blows and wounds scrub away evil, and beatings purge the inmost being.” (Prov. 20: 30) All of the Lord’s hand and providence! But of course this speaks of the regenerate Christian!

          Like

        • the unit says:

          Yeah Fr. Robert. I won’t say hate the sin and love the sinner. I might have to vote for Hillary in that case. Forget that! 🙂

          Like

        • Well Unit, conscience would never allow us to do what we are convinced is Anathema! But, the problem is that sometimes our decisions are NOT from conscience, but from our own prejudices! And we surely ALL have that! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • Btw, speaking for myself, my predilection does not allow liberalism! Just hard-headedness of being an Irish Brit and Royal Marine! And all combat English speaking Marines go to heaven, right? (Yes, I am kidding! ;))

          On a serious note, God Bless and RIP to that French Catholic priest who was martyred during his time of worship and Mass!

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Marines going to Heaven? I’ll wager that…”This is conclusive, and if men are capable of any truth, this is it.” 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          More than that even, Unit. There the street guards there, at least according to the hymn! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Yes, many Marines from the West, British, American, etc. will be in heaven in my opinion. Btw, the Dutch Marines are pretty handy also, and I have met some Christians there too! Yes, discipline and right & wrong does have a way of pressing men and minds toward the Almighty.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

