Has the internet made us too dumb to understand #Dickileaks?

from Bookworm Room

from Bookworm Room

This has bearing on the Clinton Scandals, including Dickileaks, but it is not its prime thrust. It tells you something about us and not something we want to know.

You know what the most interesting thing about the #Dickileaks revelation is? The fact that social media has effectively managed to stifle it.  Although the topics have changed in both Facebook and Twitter since I started looking at them last Friday, the one thing that hasn’t changed is that both sites’ trending feeds ignore the fact that the FBI — while looking at the computers seized from “Weiner the Pederast,” who is the estranged husband of “Huma the Muslim Brotherhood Scion,” who has long been surgically attached to “Hillary the Corrupt” — found a trove of political emails of the type Hillary was supposed to have turned over to the FBI and to Congress.

Pretty much true, by the way, not much in my feeds either, although blogs are a different story. Then again, I personally, for good or ill, refuse to pay much  attention to them. To me, the format leads to unsupported statements and simple arguments about nothing of importance. I’ve better ways to spend my time, and it’s addictive. To continue

The sad reality, though, is that our new media’s financial incentives discourage deep analysis. Even those people who are trying to pay attention are getting hit by what one writer labels the “TL;DR” factor.

That “TL;DR” acronym stands for “too long; didn’t read,” which could be the motto for much of the internet. Chris Byrne explains how our culturally short attention span has worsened thanks to the internet’s economic incentive for low-word count (i.e., minimally analytical) articles with screaming headlines. This leaves Americans incapable of understanding, or even being interested in, complex issues (such as Hillary’s shenanigans):

You may have watched in dismay, as some of your favorite online writers published work, suddenly went from a few good posts a week, to 20 posts a day, most of it nothing but clickbait or damn near it?

Well… now you know why.

Their editors and publishers are making them write to maximize clicks and views and shares. Who cares about accuracy, depth, or insight… most people never read past the headline or first paragraph anyway right?

Long form news, analysis, essays, editorials, and commentary (and related background historical, scientific, and other detailed information and exposition pieces) have largely been replaced with tweets, teaser videos, memes, 200-350 word skim pieces; and lots and lots of 50 to 150 word bare blurbs, with inflammatory or otherwise emotionally manipulative …if not outright false… headlines, and lots of links to monetizing partner sites.

Basically, clickbait makes money, and everything else loses money, unless they have alternate monetization.

via Has the internet made us too dumb to understand #Dickileaks?

That’s so true, one can see it here. My posts average 800 – 1000 words, Jess’ are a bit shorter, usually around 600, but mine have occasionally gone 3000 as well when I need to go through something, but it’s not amenable to splitting into parts. I’ve come to believe that one reason this blog doesn’t particularly grow is that the articles are too long, and not SEO friendly enough, as Book outlined above.

What am I going to do about it? Not a damned thing. It’s how I write, and what I feel is doing an honest job. I just wish there were more of you out there.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

7 Responses to Has the internet made us too dumb to understand #Dickileaks?

  1. the unit says:

    Yes, this pins it. Where have I heard it before? Oh yeah. Rat’s Right Rule. 🙂

    Like

    • NEO says:

      Yep, and he’s right. I just can’t seem to do it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • the unit says:

      You do fine though. I generally read the whole blog and links. I must admit that I’ve been doing my chores so steadily that I’ve lately skimmed a bit. And working on my old tools and equipment to try to keep them going. Just minutes ago had a dry rotted tire blow on my 4 wheel drive ’79 Blazer. Just use it around my over grown 3 acres in my chores. Not street legal anymore. Food and drink breaks and I light up the web for a little while. Then about dusk time ’til beddy bye time I be a little more thorough.

      Liked by 1 person

      • NEO says:

        Always that, isn’t there. Guess we can rest when we die! No doubt better for us though! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Yep, I just went out between comments and broke the lug nuts loose. Got WD-40 soaking in for awhile. Just last week found and purchased a used spare, 31X10.50 15R. They hard to find local. The jack is gone from under the hood, but I checked and the 350 dually’s is still there. Those nuts haven’t been loosened in 15 or 20 years. I’ll be back in business in no time.
          As to better for us. Yep, my strength and endurance is hundreds of times better than before tropical storm Hermine was in the gulf. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I hear that. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. “My posts average 800 – 1000 words…What am I going to do about it? Not a damned thing. It’s how I write, and what I feel is doing an honest job. I just wish there were more of you out there.”

    Not, really. YOU don’t write this way. You barely break 200, usually. Others write much more and you cut and paste theirs. I did some numbers from the past week…Here is what you posted from original work, and what you posted from others…

    03NOV Neo – 170, Other- 590
    02NOV Neo 51, Other- 607
    01NOV Neo – 208, Other- 364
    31OCT Neo- 161, Other- 485
    30OCT Neo – 428, Others- 637
    29OCT Neo- 159, Other- 275

    FWIW. If you simply linked to the stuff you cut and paste from others, your posting would be much more succinct. The majority less than 200 words. This would not take long to read at all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

