Enough Said

 

And remember, always

It is the Soldier

It is the soldier, not the reporter,
Who has given us freedom of the press.
It is the soldier, not the poet,
Who has given us freedom of speech.
It is the soldier, not the campus organizer,
Who has given us the freedom to demonstrate.
It is the soldier,
Who salutes the flag,
Who serves beneath the flag,
And whose coffin is draped by the flag,
Who allows the protester to burn the flag.
Father Denis Edward O’Brien, USMC
About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

10 Responses to Enough Said

  1. the unit says:

    Yes, but will the snowflakes listen? He looks a little over 30 to me. Of course now we got plenty snowflakes over 30 too. Some in leadership positions who date back to the ’60’s.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Nope, they won’t. But I’ve noticed that when the heat in the kitchen goes up, they melt.

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        That’s true. Guess that’s why they’re called snowflakes. I’ve learned something today, as happens most everyday that I pay attention and even when I don’t. The consequences are better and collateral damages less though when I’ve listened in. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Tends to work that way, I find. Although it does matter who you are listening to! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Yeah the instructions with my new hedge trimmer said don’t wear loose fitting clothes. I wore comfort fit jeans, also old and even looser. Cutting blade caught the fabric and pinched my thigh enough to bleed. Did it twice even before I listened. Now wear Joe Namath’s pantyhose fit. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Just don’t try my trick, I once used my leg as a chainsaw brake, it didn’t work out too well. Of course I left my kevlar chaps in the truck, why do you ask? 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          I know that caused some real damage. I have had a close call with my chain saw as well, but fortunately missed that consequence. My saw gets heavier as I get older and came down on my leg the other day. I had released the trigger and the chain had stopped turning on idle. Whew!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Surprisingly little, actually, although I did spring a few leaks. I was in the process of applying the chain brake as I slid down an icy hill. Taught me a lesson though – mostly to let someone else do the hard work! 🙂

          Like

        • the unit says:

          That’s a good lesson to learn, ” to let someone else do the hard work!” Just before I retired and was still making some money we had a large water oak needing to be cut down. Very close to power line and cable line, just a little beyond the easement by inches. More than I could handle. Had tree removal firm do it and a good bit of smaller stuff along with it. $3500 worth. Now retired don’t want to handle the cost. Area wise I’ve done six times the clearing, all small stuff. A pretty pennies worth I think. And got a ways to go. Good for me though. Stamina’s back and doc surprised I’d lost 12 pounds between visits, 4 months. Feeling my oats again. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Around here the power company would likely have cut it down for you – it would be to their benefit, as well as yours. Time available, of course, and it varies around the country.

          Yep, I need to, this living in town isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, after dad retired he heated the house with wood for fifteen years, started acting and moving better than anytime I could remember, and I’m pretty lethargic (getting fat too) these days! 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

