Time for Liberation

us_and_netherlands_crossed_flags_coffee_mug-r677a7289a5154b898760be8b881e7a2a_x7jg5_8byvr_324One of the more interesting things here in the last year is that our Dutch readership has increased to the point that it often is higher than the UK, and occasionally approaches that of our US readership. It’s interesting, and I have no real handle on why, although you are certainly welcome here.

This is, of course, a conservative blog, with Christian underpinnings and we mostly speak of the US and the UK, with some attention paid to the rest of the Anglosphere. Occasionally we make forays into continental Europe, but we simply do not know enough to speak to your issues especially well.

But we are watching the Islamification of Europe with horror, as we suspect many of you are. We are also aware that a good deal of our heritage runs through the Dutch republic as well. Yes, we do know where William of Orange came from! We also know of your proud heritage of exploration, your part in our founding, and your interconnectedness (if that is a word) with our own history (both US and UK), and your resistance to tyranny over the centuries.

The following is from Geert Wilders, and in it, he speaks up for Dutch history and gives his views. I won’t endorse him, if you’ve been here a while, you’ll realize it’s unusual for me to endorse any politician, and where I don’t really understand the issues, I certainly won’t. But in many ways, I think he speaks for many of us, as well.

Pim Fortuyn, the hero of Rotterdam, the man who shook the country awake, once said, “Do not aim for what is possible, but what is imaginable.” He wanted to make clear that for us, the Dutch, nothing is impossible.

Pim Fortuyn was right. Nothing is impossible for us. We are Dutch.

Look at our country. We have single-handedly created this unique and beautiful land. We are the only people in the world living in a country which for the largest part we created ourselves. A great achievement.

We not only created our own land, but we also explored the world. We have sailed all the seas. We founded New York and discovered Australia. Sometimes, it seems like we have forgotten it all. Forgotten what we are capable of. What we are capable of when we put our mind to it. And maybe that is our problem. We must dare to think big again. Because where there is a will, there is a way.

And yes, I know. Many things are bothering us. There is also much to be angry about, and rightfully so. This government has destroyed our country with its austerity policies and has allowed our country to be colonized by Islam. But let’s start aiming for the imaginable. Let us liberate our country.

via Wilders’s Plan: Time for Liberation

Do join us and the UK, we all have a tradition of liberty and freedom. But do realize, it is a difficult and often perilous journey. Out here along the Oregon Trail, they had a saying, “The weak never started and the sick died along the way.” Freedom is very like that too.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

9 Responses to Time for Liberation

  1. And the Dutch Marines are a good lot! And not a few good historical Christian Theologians also!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the unit says:

    I don’t do Facebook, so please bear with me now!
    I’m liberated and exhibiting ecstatic behavior tonight. My son flies in late tonight from Nicaragua. Haven’t seen him in three years.

    Liked by 2 people

    • NEO says:

      Yay! You! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jan Hanssen says:

    Mr. Christianson

    Your blog was being read as part of a Master’s Degree class on American politics (for a school in the Netherlands). Since the class is over, can I ask a few questions?

    Have you ever been to Europe, or England?
    What is your level of formal education?
    How well traveled are you within the USA?
    Have you spent a great deal of time interacting with Middle Eastern refugees?
    Have you spent a great deal of time interacting with Muslims?
    How long have you lived in your current region/state?
    Generally speaking, what do you consider your economic standing to be? (middle class?)
    How much do you make (if you feel comfortable answering this question, it can be in general)?

    We read you in addition to other blogs but we were not sure about your background.

    Jan

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Interesting, thank you, Jan.

      Sure one can ask questions, I’ll even answer.

      Sadly, I haven’t been, tried to several times, but something always came up, but remain hopeful.

      I have two years of college (electrical engineering).

      Middle eastern, not a lot, almost none, in fact, but a certain amount interfacing with Somali refugees/immigrants. Muslims, no, not a lot, but some the above mentioned Somalis.

      I’ve been in Nebraska for about 30 years, lived in Montana and North Dakota before that, I was born in Indiana, and lived there till I was about 25 or so.

      I’m pretty much lower middle class as we define it here. How about: “Not enough”, but that’s partly my fault since I’m retired and not overly interested in working anymore.

      Now, let me ask you, how did my answers track on to what you (individually, and as a group) thought?

      D.A. (Dave) Christianson

      Like

      • Jan Hanssen says:

        It sort of tracks. Are you married? Kids? Were you ever in the military? In any wars?

        More importantly, how do you feel your life opportunities and situations have compared to your parent’s opportunities and situations? Do you think you had less opportunity than past generations? This is something that we considered important.

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I was married and have three stepkids, who sadly are not in touch any longer.

          Other than a couple years of Reserve Officer training at University, I wasn’t in the military, and no wars, but likely would not have been anyway – too young for Vietnam and too old for the First Gulf war. It’s something I wanted to do but other duties interfered.

          It’s a hard question. My parents were in their twenties during the depression, and managed to maintain themselves, dad ended up the manager of a fair sized company, after having to support his mom and siblings after his dad died in his junior year of high school, no social benefits here at that time at all. So, I’d call him quite successful. On that scale, he did better than I did – but many things were different, I have roughly the same skill set, but our society now demands far too much credentialing. But, on the other hand, if some things had been different in my personal life, I think I would have been more successful. But they weren’t, and I’m not complaining about it. I did my duty, as I saw it, and I’ve made a living all these years (actually, mostly a pretty good one).

          And you know, if I were coming out of high school now, with my inclinations, I would do the same thing, learn some real world skills (As you likely know, I’m basically a power lineman and an electrician, learn some management (and leadership) along the way and see where it got me.

          See that’s the thing, really, if you have those skills, and are reasonably intelligent about the real world, you’ll pretty much always be OK, and you might do much better.

          Still, I occasionally remember my high school chemistry teachers advice and think I should have been a patent lawyer, but I had then no (and little now) desire to spend my life indoors.

          My basic advice is to always do what you think is right, and never regret the choices you make. Or as Henry Ford said, “Never complain, never explain.”

          People like you are, in fact, why I write now, it’s hard when one is young to figure stuff out. What one needs is the basics, the principles, that work, and then one can apply it to what one is doing, if that makes sense.

          And I’m glad to see some you appear to still be reading, do feel free to comment, as well. I’m always interested in what others think as well.

          Like

        • Jan Hanssen says:

          I appreciate the advice. I am currently an engineer, but taking classes for a political science program. We are reading your blog to get the perspective of a poorer, white American, particularly during the election season. We read the Atlantic articles….

          The Original Underclass
          http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2016/09/the-original-underclass/492731/

          and

          All Hollowed Out: The lonely poverty of America’s white working class
          http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2016/01/white-working-class-poverty/424341/

          Based on your demographic details we used your blog as a view into the life of a poorer (relative) working class white American. It has been interesting.

          Do you see your point of view as one of despair? We saw this, but I was wondering what your POV was. You love the UK, but you have never visited anywhere in Europe. You write extensively about the military, but you never served in it. You’re very concerned and even afraid of Muslims, but you have never really met any and never spent any time around them. It seems so much of your life is based on what could have been instead of what is, and we were never really sure how you saw it.

          Please understand this is not intended to be critical, just an assessment of the past several months of watching and considering. And don’t get us wrong, plenty of people talk, write, discuss, and debate military issues without having been in the military, but with you, it seemed personal.

          It seems so much of what you write is based on regret, and there is a lot of that in the US at the moment. We’re trying to understand it. The Trump phenomenon seems fueled by this regret and sense of missed opportunity.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Fair enough. I’ve only skimmed the Atlantic articles, but on first look find them biased, which doesn’t surprise me, the Atlantic is pretty left wing at least in American terms. Although it may be true in parts of the old rust belt, where I grew up, but it’s more of a regional thing – in Appalachia where the book is based. It’s hardly true here at all, but we’re pretty successful here, with little sign of downturn. Remember, and a lot of Europeans forget, America is bigger than Europe, our regions, sometimes our states can be as different as France and Germany.

          Despair, no, not a bit of it. We’ve problems, all right, but they’re problems with our government, which impedes us overmuch, they’re solvable. The mood is much closer to anger than despair. Yes, I love the UK, but remember up till 250 years ago, we were part of it, and our institutions are based on English ones, and I’ve many friends there, including my co-author here. Until I had friends there, I actually had little desire to visit, I still have little interest in visiting continental Europe. And for that matter, I ain’t dead yet.

          No, I don’t have close friends who are Moslem, nor do I black ones at the moment – don’t conflate that with racism, it’s not. I have known some of each, some have been friends, but like many of my white past friends, as I have Native American, and Indians, our interests diverged. No, I’m not frightened of them, mostly I like them. I am concerned about radical Islam, although even there, it’s pretty minor here compared to what I see in Europe.

          No, I read much history, and see parallels to today, but other than to tell stories, I never live in the land of what might have been. I made my decisions, and I live with them. If I had made different ones, well the outcome would have been different, maybe better but maybe worse. For the most part, I’ve done exactly what I pleased, knowing the consequences, and being willing to pay them. The government has made the last decade or so depressing, but maybe we can change that, it feels like it. That was reinforced as I went halfway across the country and back over Christmas.

          The military is personal with me, but also with others. Almost every man I knew when I was a kid was a veteran, mostly World War II, but also the First World War, and Korea as well. Those men shaped me, taught me many lessons, and it stuck. I’ve buried friends, and helped with their care in every war since. That’s hardly uncommon out here, our military is by far our most respected institution, by 50+ percentage points. My co-author has spoken of the British military as being rather cut off from civil society, that hasn’t been true here since the 80s, they’re are simply our neighbors and our friends.

          My take on Trump, for what it’s worth and it’s congruent with my family on the east coast, is that neither candidate was very good. For me Trump ended up less bad, others came down on the other side. Since then, as he’s been picking his team, I’m very encouraged. But he needs watching all people in political offices do, that is much of the problem with the last eight years. Regret and missed opportunity? No, it’s a very deep-seated anger, at Washington. We’ve simply had enough of their crap, and it’ll change or we’ll fire them too. Americans are not a very passive people, we never have been. And we’ll make plenty more opportunities as we go along, we’re like that, too.

          Like

Leave a Reply

