Making American Football Great Again

3ce2698900000578-4194186-the_end_she_then_caught_a_shiny_football_as_she_jumped_off_the_s-a-15_1486369657874I have a confession to make, I didn’t bother watching the Super Bowl, yesterday. In fact, I haven’t watched a pro game all year. I’m not exactly boycotting the NFL although it does tend to offend me. I just don’t care much anymore, maybe I’ve outgrown it. I don’t really know, likely because I haven’t thought about it much. My first love was always the college game (especially the Big 10) anyway. Given Purdue’s performance the last few years, I haven’t watched much of that either.

But it seems that the Patriots started slow and make one heck of a comeback yesterday, as I read Mary Katharine Ham’s article in The Federalist this morning, I rather wished I had. Both for the game, which went into OT and for Lady Gaga’s halftime show. Here’s a bit

Many Americans were bracing themselves for the halftime show of the Super Bowl Sunday. Lady Gaga, a vocal Hillary Clinton supporter and left-leaning activist, had a huge stage 13 minutes. Recent precedent suggested such a performance could not take place without some kind of obvious anti-Trump political statement. Some boycotted in anticipation.

Those like myself, who like sports to be an oasis from politics, were skeptical but hoped for the best. She’s a great performer with a great voice. She’s also been inventive in her career, if not subtle, so a run-of-the-mill Trump denunciation would have felt pretty tired. It would have won her plenty of the usual social media plaudits, but she went a different route. I underestimated her.

Gaga opened her performance atop the stadium, clad in iridescent armor, singing “God Bless America” and “This Land is Your Land” against a back drop of the American flag formed by the red, white, and blue head lamps of 300 synchronized drones.

She transitioned to the Pledge of Allegiance, pointing at the sky for “under God” and adding special emphasis to “for all.” Some, seemingly looking for offense, accused Gaga of omitting “under God,” but she did not.

Gaga then tore through a medley of her greatest hits, even teasing the Houston audience by doing a verse of her Beyoncé collaboration “Telephone” but without an appearance by the hometown diva. Power move. She sang a cappella, she played the piano, she said hi to her parents, and she put on a hell of a show.

She hugged someone briefly during her song “Stay,” and the Internet is trying to figure out if that had any political significance. “This Land Is Your Land” was written by folk singer Woody Guthrie as a response to “God Bless America,” with critical lyrics and a chorus of “God blessed America for me,” so, the performance was not without its messages.

That sounds pretty damned good to me. Mary Katharine is right, she’s a talented lady, who works hard at her craft, she’s just not really my cup of tea, but then I’m an old fogey anyway. But it’s definitely time for America to begin to pull together again, and I like This Land is your Land as well as God Bless America. And you know, we really are all in this together, whatever we think about Hillary Clinton and/or Donald Trump, and all our other controversies. Nor do I especially mind watching a beautiful woman dance, and leap, and such. I’m old, but not that old. 🙂

She also talked a bit about the game

Down 21-3 in the first half thanks to an authoritative performance from Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan and the Falcons defense, Brady looked uncharacteristically rattled at times. Down 28-3 in the third quarter, he looked uncharacteristically cornered. But the Patriots made the best of a flubbed fourth-quarter Falcons pass on third and 1, recovering and later scoring to bring the game to within 8, and a couple more bad pass play calls that took the Birds out of range of the field goal that might have put the game out of reach.

In the end, Brady’s performance wasn’t without his customary dominance and grit. But it was different. It was unexpected. Brady no doubt earned new fans—or, at the very least, grudging respect from skeptics—who will be interested in his game, no matter his politics. He won dramatically and he won graciously, though not without knocking NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell obliquely in his acceptance speech, which is something we can all get behind. He orchestrated the biggest comeback in Super Bowl history, was named MVP in the only overtime the Super Bowl has ever seen, and he accepted the giant trophy from his nemesis while acknowledging his sick mother, in the crowd to watch her son win.

via Lady Gaga And Tom Brady Made America Great Again Sunday

And that too sounds like TV worth watching. It’s been a very long year, and I for one would be very pleased if we all just quit yelling so much at each other, and got on with the game.

Now if only Purdue could finally put together a winning team

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

38 Responses to Making American Football Great Again

  1. Myself, and this won’t be popular, but I don’t see American professional football as making America great again! Sadly the Falcon’s blew the second half, and especially the 4th quarter! But yes, always American College Football!

    *Btw, rock on Atlanta and the South! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • NEO says:

      Can’t speak for others, but I mostly agree. Haven’t been excited since the 85 bears, myself. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Even as a Brit I remember Bart Star’s quarter-back sneak, to win many years ago now! Indeed American Football, as American and Western life has changed, and not for the better!

        Liked by 2 people

        • NEO says:

          Yep, I grew up watching the Bear, and the Packers. What great guys they were. Things change, and rarely for the better.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Indeed life is always “change”! Myself, I am one that is waiting for that most real change of the First Resurrection! (Rev. 20:6)…Always “Biblicism” for me! But ya already knew that! 😉

          *Remember Ray Nitschke? RIP!

          Liked by 2 people

        • NEO says:

          Indeed so. And how about Roger Staubach?

          Like

        • Yes, old Staubach QB from Navy! One of my Irish Uncles gave me an an American Pro Football magazine, back in my early teens. Yes, some of us Brits liked American Football even then!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I love the game, played in HS. Great to be in the battle, and that’s what it often is. Course that’s how I wrecked my knee, as well. 🙂

          Like

        • Btw, I was a pretty good athlete myself. Mostly golf, I was almost a scratch golfer at 16. But of course with back surgery (15 years ago or so) no golf now!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I still play a bit of tennis, when I can find someone bad enough to play me.

          Like

        • Btw, I really believe the Lord took golf away from me, for he knew I would play golf way too much! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          It can surely be addictive! 🙂

          Like

        • Addiction, yes banging golf ball’s surely was! 😉 Mostly now I just miss the beauty of the golf course! But God does have other beauties, women are on the list for sure, i.e. looking that is! And when a man stops looking at women, he’s about done at life! But God gave me a very beautiful other-half!

          *Just being real! We must be real! See old Luther here! He was about as real as a man could be!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, Luther was, all that is good about, and a goodly bit of that which is not so good. Makes a believable man out of him. I can’t imagine not looking at women, ever! 🙂

          Like

        • On a side note, I wish I could get some of the younger pastors to read Luther on straight human sexuality, man and woman! Luther was NO prude for sure! He loved his wife Katie, and they lost their young teen daughter (13) in sickness and death.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Nope, he wasn’t, and he really loved his kids, too.

          Like

  2. the unit says:

    Ah, football talk! Yeah the day after the season is over for this past one. No I wouldn’t be saying much as I don’t live and die football like I did years ago. Haven’t watched in good many years either.
    I did participate in a football weekly pick the winner friendly contest, no money bets, with a bunch of middle aged rock guitar enthusiasts, Van Halen worshipers. No I’m not that inclined. Can’t even play a comb. Got invited by a co-commenter over at Mark America three years ago. Fellow who invited me was one of them and a political junky too. They turned out to be pretty nice folks, but don’t know much about whatever that isn’t on MSM. I haven’t tried to clue them in as their site is what it is, for them and guitar talk. I’m just a guest in their midst. Just enough occasional talk I have read to let me believe they are clueless. Sheeple I guess, but at least not agitators, protesters, or snowflakes.
    Only eight did the picks this year, usually 10. I didn’t win. Came in #4. They don’t give participation trophies. 🙂
    They did discuss and wonder what Superbowl halftime would be like, entertainment wise. I’ll bet they liked it as to what was described here. They are a pretty patriotic bunch. I’ll read their today’s comments tonight.
    Anyway, what I’m getting at is it’s a good relief valve for me. . 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      It is, and we all need them. 🙂

      Mostly for me it’s classical music, but other things too.

      Like

    • NEO says:

      Something about the comments here today made me think of this:

      Not us, surely! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Yeah! I don’t sing. I don’t play. I couldn’t dance, but I finally did! Them was glory days! 🙂

        And that was between pool shots. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yowza! 🙂

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Once more, with feeling!

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Yep! That’s music! That’s back when entertainers were patriotic and really in this time could’ve helped in this war against Radical Islamic Terrorists! I saw a sign, I think, during the Pussy March saying “Patriotism is Racist.” Of course Sunwanee River in ragtime or anytime would be too.
          Andrews Sisters dancin’ too in a Youtube video of Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy of Company B, I saw a while back.

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I just saw it as well, They were quite something, all right! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • I wonder today if you asked Americans, just what is America and who is an American? What kind of answer you would get. For me America means freedom, and a true American lives in and for freedom! Is this a wrong idea? You Americans tell me!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          That, to my mind, is the basis of it all. We’ve done pretty well with that for a foundation.

          Like

        • And btw, did I see a bit of a tummy on Lady Gaga? 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Just a bit, I think. 😉

          Like

        • Good answer NEO, freedom is foundational for Americans, conservative or liberal, to my mind anyway. And I am quite enjoying your freedom, which of course I fought shoulder to shoulder beside Americans as a Brit!

          Liked by 1 person

        • I like women who are just a bit thin myself, my wife has long legs and is a wee bit thin also. And of course I am a bit on the lean side myself. But to each his own eh? God made us in all sizes! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          For me it’s those long, well-formed legs. But yeah, all kinds are good! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • Yes, all kinds are good! Just some are better! (Female legs that is)

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Indeed so! 🙂

          Like

  3. the unit says:

    Something funny happened today. At least it was to me. I didn’t know just where to tell about it as it would be OT most anywhere. But seeing as how ragtime was in the comments video…well, lunchtime rhymes with ragtime. So here goes…
    At lunchtime I was fixing my hamburger, corn chips, and French onion dip. Wife had just left for a half day of substitute teaching. Sometimes in a hurry to get away cleaning up has to wait. There on the counter was a paper plate with a sliver of that real thin sliced roast beef that wife and daughter eat on it. I started to pick it up and eat it, but then thought how the dog is used to getting my last bite. So decided to just put it on the side of my plate with my stuff. Then I could have the last bite of my hamburger. In doing so I happened to turn it over. It wasn’t a sliver of roast beef after all. It was a used flesh colored band aid. It was sort of folded over so larger on one end looking more like a sliver of roast beef. And they darker flesh colored nowadays, much like thin sliced roast beef. My vision is about as good as my hearing. So the dog got my last bite of hamburger anyways. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Lucky you noticed! I doubt the dog would’ve enjoyed it all that much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Wife fixed turkey burgers for supper. Ugh! Dog got “yuge” last bite tonight. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Nope, not on my favorites list, either. If you want lean, get some buffalo burgers, they’re pretty good. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

