No Particular Place to Go

I’d guess that most of you heard the news yesterday, Chuch Berry died, at 90. Well there’s not really too much to say about the ‘Father of Rock and Roll’, is there? Like almost everybody my age, I loved his music, there’s a youthful, happy quality about it, and something of that American ‘Here, hold my beer’ exuberance, as well. I suspect it says something about the man that he still lived in St. Louis, rather than California. But in any case, like with any great performer, the music is the thing. Here’s some of it.

 

And this, of course. You didn’t think I’d leave that one out, did you?

What else can you say when a legend leaves? I loved his pure Rock and Roll, and how easy he always seemed with himself. He was a major influence on all those great rock bands we all knew, but in many ways, the original is still the best.

Rest in Peace.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

11 Responses to No Particular Place to Go

  1. Chuck Berry was the real deal guitar man to me, RIP and sing and play us a sweet memory! Johnny B. Goode was my favorite among his many, with both Maybellene and Roll Over Beethoven a very close second!

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      He surely was. I love all those you mention. He’ll be missed, although he hasn’t been all that active lately, I guess.

      Like

      • One of my Irish Uncles saw him in America in the 60’s somewhere, and he said he, Chuck Berry was a one man show! His music strikes me deeply somehow, just good ole Rock and Roll! Today is a day to listen to Chuck Berry music clips!

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, it is. That’s mostly what even BBC Norfolk is doing today. There’s a great article over at WOW Magazine, talking about being backstage (probably in the 80’s). You’ll like it.

          http://www.watcherofweasels.org/chuck-berry-makes-passage-1926-2017/

          Like

        • Sweet! Btw, I had forgotten about ‘My Ding -a- Ling’! What a great showman he was also! And yes, we Brit’s love/loved Him!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I almost did, ran across it on YouTube! Wasn’t he, though. That particular show was, I think, in London.

          Like

        • Yes, London. Btw I would be remiss to our guitar players (which includes myself), if I did not mention his old Gibson ES-355! And not to forget his song “Nadine” also! Wow what a “rocker” and player he most certainly was! HE will be solely missed! Btw too, I think that was his daughter who played the mouth harp?

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Indeed! It could be, I just don’t know.

          Like

        • I was thinking of the Switzerland gig in the 80’s? with the mouth harp piece.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. the unit says:

    I guess you don’t have to consider going home again if you’ve not left it. But St. Louis? I’d be pushed to my Cultural Limits to be there in the first place. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yeah, me too, but there are some pretty neat things there, we just don’t hear much about them, except occasionally from CL. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

