Poetry Wednesday

I don’t know why, although I have some ideas, but lately, I have trouble sleeping. Usually, prayer calms me down enough to get to sleep, and then I’m good for the night. The last few months, it hasn’t worked all that well, and so sometimes, I end up having a few stiff scotches to help, even though it’s hardly optimal. I’ve long since asked God to fix it, and still am for it’s more a matter of the soul than anything else, and we all know His power. I’m sure He will, but He hasn’t yet.

So often it ends up that I’m up and wide awake in the middle of the night, doing this or that. Often I’ll read old posts, either here or at AATW, and wonder how to get back to the way I was writing then. Last night was one of those, and I ran across a poem that Fr Robert mentioned in comments a few years ago. It’s one by Henry Vaughn, and in fact, one that is also an old favorite of mine as well. So, I decided to share it once again with you all. Enjoy

THEY ARE ALL GONE INTO THE WORLD OF LIGHT.

THEY are all gone into the world of light !
And I alone sit ling’ring here ;
Their very memory is fair and bright,
And my sad thoughts doth clear.

It glows and glitters in my cloudy breast,
Like stars upon some gloomy grove,
Or those faint beams in which this hill is dress’d,
After the sun’s remove.

I see them walking in an air of glory,
Whose light doth trample on my days :
My days, which are at best but dull and hoary,
Mere glimmering and decays.

O holy Hope ! and high Humility,
High as the heavens above !
These are your walks, and you have show’d them me,
To kindle my cold love.

Dear, beauteous Death !  the jewel of the just,
Shining nowhere, but in the dark ;
What mysteries do lie beyond thy dust,
Could man outlook that mark !

He that hath found some fledg’d bird’s nest, may know
At first sight, if the bird be flown ;
But what fair well or grove he sings in now,
That is to him unknown.

And yet, as angels in some brighter dreams
Call to the soul when man doth sleep,
So some strange thoughts transcend our wonted themes,
And into glory peep.

If a star were confin’d into a tomb,
Her captive flames must needs burn there ;
But when the hand that lock’d her up, gives room,
She’ll shine through all the sphere.

O Father of eternal life, and all
Created glories under Thee !
Resume Thy spirit from this world of thrall
Into true liberty.

Either disperse these mists, which blot and fill
My perspective still as they pass :
Or else remove me hence unto that hill
Where I shall need no glass.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

34 Responses to Poetry Wednesday

  1. Annie says:

    Closing my eyes and arranging my body into how it might like to pass the night, I turn my eyes (behind my eyelids) towards my eyebrows and my mind to the Lord saying “Into your hands Lord, I commit my spirit”, and take my rest until the morning. May the Lord give rest to your body, mind, soul and spirit Neo xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Thanks, Annie, I get enough, just on the medieval pattern, go to bed pretty early, get up for a while in the middle of the night, and then sleep till morning. Trouble is, I do prefer the modern way for some things. 🙂

      For the rest, it’ll work out, and in some ways I suspect it has. Thanks xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Indeed NEO, I hope & pray you get your sleep & rest, In Jesus Name! (Maybe try some Irish whiskey, and chase it with a brew? 😉 )

    I love Henry Vaughn’s poetry, but ‘THEY are all gone into the world of light !’ Might be my favorite? so many of my family and friends have passed into that “world of Light”! And we too shall in our time also, what an Eternal Day that will be for us personally eh… To see Jesus-Yeshua and worship Him with all the redeemed forever! (Rev. 4: 10-11) “Glory” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Not a bad idea!

      Yep, it’s so for many of now, and yes that will be the Eternal day, just beyond description! 🙂

      Like

      • Amen! “Beyond Description!” I love it! 🙂

        Sadly with my back med’s, I rarely drink anymore, just a small Aussie “Fosters” on special exceptions! 😉 Btw just about every Irish family has a few “drunks” in it, and my little brother suffers that plight at times. Funny how it has never struck me? I still remember my one and only hugging the porcelain! – Never again! 😉

        *One thinks of both C.S. Lewis and his retired military brother and Irish historian “Warnie”, the latter was the drunk sadly. And “Jacks” used to have to go and bail-him out! Both were Irish born btw, Northern Ireland of course!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Warren (the older brother by three years) outlived CS, dying in 1973. Of course Jack in 1963. They were very close friends as well as brothers! Perhaps walking helped Warnie? They used to walk miles together, one of their hobbies!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Don’t know about them, but it does me. Hard to talk myself into it in the winter though. Maybe this spring.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Of course! 🙂 Yep, in a lot of ways it’s a northern European thing – maybe trying to stay warm. I still like a bit (or more) of Aquavit, just can’t find here around here. Not something I worry about, as long as I’m home, and I usually am.

          Like

  3. the unit says:

    I think He made us that way. Most of my career was spent with children in morning clinical hours. The last few working years was with the elderly. Hardly any would ever accept a early morning appointment. They fell asleep in the early morning after restless nights and slept in ’til later. Now I’m experiencing that with myself, the last few years. Knowing of the others keeps me calmly accepting it as my norm now. I’m doing pretty well getting 5 to seven hours where I’m not worrying about it in those waking periods.
    Of course, I’m not calling you elderly. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I won’t even begin to call myself “elderly” until and if I crack 70? 68, in the Fall of this year. I know “Unit” you have passed that!

      *Btw just a personal note, but my wife has been very sick, and was in the hospital for several days last week. She suffers from chronic COPD. And she is some younger than I, but smoked years back. The damage is done, but were all on the Lord’s Time anyway!

      Liked by 2 people

      • NEO says:

        Prayer for her, Fr Robert. Yep, how well I know, I did 2+ packs a day for 40 years, not too much harm, at least so far, but’s noticeable.

        Like

        • Yes, its all somewhat different depending on the person. Many of my Irish uncles smoked, a few lived into their 70’s and 80’s, but some died in their 50’s and 60’s. My point about CS Lewis and Warren Lewis, and I do believe both of them smoked too? And the older brother lived almost 10 years longer than the younger! But for us Christians, we are on God’s time!

          Thanks for the prayers! I can tell you this, I would be somewhat lost without my wife! She has been very ill this last time, but of course God is in control. But trusting that control is NOT always that easy for me anyway, since I am so rational! But here is where faith comes in, which runs ahead of mere rational thinking. God does press us sometimes! Lord have mercy!

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Almost everybody did in those days, it seems, and in truth I miss it occasionally, although not the hacking that went with it.

          I hear that, it amazing how dependent we become.

          Sing it, Brother. We know He’s in charge, but still we want what we want. He does, and He will, He always has.

          Like

      • the unit says:

        Yes, hope your wife improves. Will remember her in prayers.
        Yeah Fr. Robert, I’ve passed the Rubicon. Now following my mom’s admonition to eat my fruit and veggies. Collecting the American version of “Fruit Money.” So far they’re still letting the “deplorables” get it. Hope the judicial branch doesn’t intervene. 🙂
        https://www.hongkongfp.com/2016/06/09/never-mind-wealth-gap-eat-fruit/

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thanks “Unit” to pray! She seems some better? But of course time will tell! Keep the Faith! And I guess I am a British “deplorable”? lol

          Liked by 2 people

    • NEO says:

      Good, I’d hate to ban you!! 😉

      I’ve sporadically done it most of my adult life, usually when I’m worried about something, yeah, it’s just sort of a pain, I like being up early, and it interferes. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • One great thing being in combat taught me, was, and is, to live one day at a time! For myself this has NOT been that hard, but worrying for others, well that is another issue! My youngest son is of course a combat medic, so I do worry about him, as well as my wife! We never personally escape the great need for faith, and short accounts with God!

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, it’s not that hard for ourselves, at least me. I don’t fear death hardly at all, although pain on the way might be different! 🙂 But when we worry about others, well, that is much, much harder. I think that is a good thing, helps keep us humble.

          Like

        • Yes, humility by God is always real thing! It sort of presses me to the interior side, and sometimes all we can do is seek to listen to the quiet, but God is at work I believe, but it is still a place of faith, and some humble pie.. and yes a good thing by God.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. On an aside, it’s been a rough day in London sadly! Sounds like just another lone wolf type, but we shall see?

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Sounds very much like it was, at least he got a real sentence, real quick. But a very sad day.

      Like

      • We still have a home and house in greater London, my oldest son lives there. I just sent some of my books back there also. (Yes, I have way too many books still!) And I even gave some away here. Books are like old friends! But of course this generation reads more from the computer, which I have learned to do some myself. But, I still like to have a book to hand!

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I know, and so do I. Love my Kindle, but it’s just not the same, still love books, especially old ones. Speaking of which, that one you mentioned the other day, Amazon has a copy, although pricey enough it will have to wait a bit. Only place I found it, either here or in the UK.

          Like

        • NEO: Yes, most of my books were bought in the UK. I used to have many First Editions of C.S. Lewis books, but sold them. I even had one signed by Lewis. But, I must let some go! And my son’s are not really “theolog” types. Though my oldest is a military history teacher. And I have my share of books in that genre also.

          Keep reading! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Always, my Amazon list is long, my Amazon UK one shorter, and some on E bay as well. I can remember humping a whole duffel bag of books around. What I need is a library! 🙂 guess I better build one!

          Like

        • NEO: My problem is, that I have built a few library’s! One even here, though I did send some books to the UK. Yes, I love books! I am just an old Bookman! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, I know the feeling, I have as well. I’m no collector, I’m simply a hoarder! 😉

          Like

        • “Hoarder”, that’s a good one! All of us true “Bookman” are guilty here too! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          😉

          Like

  5. the unit says:

    Late night or early morning greetings sleepless friend…if you’re awake. I am. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • the unit says:

      No! Then hope you’re having sweet dreams. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • the unit says:

      BTW,,,several blogs back ago you responded to my much earlier comment about this time, after 1 am. I thought then… had you been out carousing around? lol Now I know better. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • NEO says:

        That you do! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Better night, slept through the short one, and late, too! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

