Naught for England’s Comfort

Jess, the very first time she wrote here, wrote this:

“And this is the word of Mary,
The word of the world’s desire
`No more of comfort shall ye get,
Save that the sky grows darker yet
And the sea rises higher.’ 

Now it proves the flint against which the iron of resolve is sharpened, and the Saxons rally and they win, even though all had seemed lost. Alfred was not the most charismatic or dramatic of leaders, but he won, and this is why:

And this was the might of Alfred,
At the ending of the way;
That of such smiters, wise or wild,
He was least distant from the child,
Piling the stones all day.

Alfred has faith and he had patience, and he had resilience; he lacked the capacity to despair. In short, he possessed all the Christian virtues. He listened to Our Lady and he understood her advice, and so, at the height of the battle:

The King looked up, and what he saw
Was a great light like death,
For Our Lady stood on the standards rent,
As lonely and as innocent
As when between white walls she went
And the lilies of Nazareth.


Back to London for a bit, mostly because I want you to read this from the £ Daily Mail. Katie Hopkins wrote:

They stood in the centre of Brussels. Row on row.

Hands held high, making hearts to the heavens. Showing the slaughtered they were not forgotten. Reminding themselves they were here with love. Looking to show humanity wins. That love conquers all.

They lay in the centre of London, face down where they fell. Stabbed by a knife, rammed with a car, flung, broken, into the Thames, life bleeding out on the curb.

And the news came thick and fast.

A car rammed deliberately into pedestrians on the bridge. Ten innocents down.

A police officer stabbed at the House of Commons. Confirmed dead.

Another woman now, dead at the scene.

Shots fired. An Asian man rushed to hospital.

A woman, plucked from the water.

And I grew colder. And more tiny.

No anger for me this time. No rage like I’ve felt before. No desperate urge to get out there and scream at the idiots who refused to see this coming.

Not even a nod for the glib idiots who say this will not defeat us, that we will never be broken, that cowardice and terror will not get the better of Britain.

Because, as loyal as I am, as patriotic as I am, as much as my whole younger life was about joining the British military and fighting for my country — I fear we are broken.

Not because of this ghoulish spectacle outside our own Parliament. Not because of the lives rammed apart on the pavement, even as they thought about what was for tea. Or what train home they might make. (…)

As the last life-blood of a police officer ran out across the cobbles, the attacker was being stretchered away in an attempt to save his life.

London is a city so desperate to be seen as tolerant, no news of the injured was released. No clue about who was safe or not.

Liberals convince themselves multiculturalism works because we all die together, too.

An entire city of monkeys: see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil. Blind. Deaf. And dumb. […]

The patriots of the rest of England versus the liberals in this city. The endless tolerance to those who harm us, (while the Home Office tries to shift the focus of public fear to white terror) — versus the millions like me who face the truth, with worried families and hopeless hearts, who feel the country sinking.

We are taken under the cold water by this heavy right foot in the south, a city of lead, so desperately wedded to the multicultural illusion that it can only fight those who love the country the most, blame those who are most proud to be British, and shout racist at the 52%.

via Katie Hopkins on the London terror attack | Daily Mail Online

She’s right, isn’t she? The government is so busy making sure that they offend no one that they offend only the English (and British) patriot. The rock solid basis of the country since before there was an England. I know they are there, I speak with them most every day, both English and Scottish. They are there, they are ready to do what needs to be done, but HMG won’t let them, and so they will eventually die with the rotters, and the moochers, that have taken over the so-called elite mostly in Londonistan.

The only thing frowned on in Great Britain these days is pride and patriotism in Britain. We, the cousins, we know what they have done for the world, for we took that heritage and we built “a Citty on a Hill” with it. That city has become the last chance for British Freedom in this world. We did this, with the tools vouchsafed us from England, and now England has lost the ability to use those same tools.

Earlier this week, we featured Dame Vera Lynn singing, “There will always be an England, and England shall be free”. But I increasingly have my doubts about that. I do believe the legend and legacy of English Freedom will live, as will the rights, but I much fear that they will move to the Great Republic as a refuge. William Pitt once commented that America was populated from England at the height of English freedom. It was, and we have, perhaps, kept the inheritance more sacred.

But, while it is late for Britain, and yes perhaps for the United States as well, in both places there are many good men (and women) and true, and we have been here before, many times. But we would do well to remember Sir Winston’s thoughts on the matter.

“If you will not fight for right when you can easily win without blood shed; if you will not fight when your victory is sure and not too costly; you may come to the moment when you will have to fight with all the odds against you and only a precarious chance of survival. There may even be a worse case. You may have to fight when there is no hope of victory, because it is better to perish than to live as slaves.”

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

29 Responses to Naught for England’s Comfort

  1. Sadly this is the very nature of Political Correctness! It is in reality a very poor and sometimes evil supposition and hypothesis.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yes, and it will kill us, if not checked.

      Like

      • Amen to that! But it is now simply part of this evil-age, we are on our way to Armageddon, come hell or high water! (Yes, the latter are metaphorical, but still going to be very real!)

        Liked by 1 person

        • Modernity and modern man will fail in the end! Our “smart phones” really make us even more ignorant! And btw, I don’t have an I phone myself.

          Like

        • NEO says:

          Indeed so.

          Like

        • But my wife does have an I phone and a tablet! 😉 Which I honestly DON’T use myself. I know, good for me eh, or so I think? lol So I get a ‘that a boy!’ (I’m poking fun at myself, for it’s how one uses these gadgets of course!)

          Like

        • I wonder if “Unit” has an I phone or tablet? I am kidding of course!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Btw, its of course Sat. morning here in the OC, and my wife is home and somewhat better! Thanks be to God! But, she is NOT yet out of the woods? Thanks again for the prayers! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Of course, and continuing! 🙂

          Like

        • Yes, Thanks! She sees a home-care nurse daily, for an IV Push, for a few weeks. She had an infection near the kidney also. A very sick lass she was!

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          No, me don’t. Me heard that letter of the alphabet used so often from Obama that me won’t have one. Don’t even type the letter. Unless there’s no other course to follow. May start the use of the ! to make my po!nt. However, that may be too overboard. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. NEO says:

    Like

    • Yes, the good old days! When right and wrong made sense, and the West had the resolve! I sometimes think I was born at least a few generations late? Though WW 1 was surely HELL! I’d pass on that one, though both my grandfathers were in the so-called Great War! The pic above is of course WW II and D Day, it appears!

      Liked by 1 person

      • NEO says:

        Looks like it to me. Yes, I always wonder whether WW I started the rot in Europe. Britain too, of course, the officer class took much higher casualties than OR did. They led from the front, as is meet. WW II may have been their swan song. It all applies to the US too, of course, although not as strongly. But today, well the OR are still there, as they are here, but the gallant leadership, not so much. I think we may be, Fr Robert, amongst the last representatives of the greatest civilization. I’ve written about the Once and Future King, as has Jess, noting that Arthur was likely one of the last Celtic Kings fighting the Saxon Horde using Roman tactics. Well here we are again. God help us!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yes NEO, we are standing on the shoulders of the generation of Veterans of WW 1 and 2 (as many before) in the Anglo-Saxon world and community, the Old English/English!

          Btw, for what its worth, I knew personally three who were at D- Day in WW II, my father who flew over the area in a Supermarine Spitfire fighter, one uncle an RMC who landed a Juno Beach, and Fr. Sweeny, who was a chaplain, who landed also at Juno. Yes, what a generation!

          Yes, “Well here we are again. God help us!”

          Btw, keep writing and comparing history, maybe some of the younger (and older people too) here will learn something! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I intend to, but sometimes I just want to walk away, shaking my head. Time to corral the inmates soon, I think. 🙂

          Like

        • And of course Old English/English includes us Irish/Scots-Irish, the Scottish, and Welsh! With of course the Americans!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Yes, I quite understand that aspect… corral them! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • Not to forget the Anglo-Saxon Europeans! Thinking of Norway, i.e. and the Norwegians here!

          Like

        • *Btw, I forgot, one of my Uncles landed too a Sword Beach (British Army)! Nearest to Caen, where he was later wounded, within as I remember, the first few months? He did not serve as long because of his wounds.

          Like

  3. the unit says:

    Now about the blog.
    Sir Winston knew. And that’s why his bust had to be removed from the Oval Office. He knew because he was of the generation before the Lost Generation, the Generation of Flames, still that he’d seen and was a part of too. Can’t have that reminder around.
    As far as the slave thought goes, the Clinton’s and etc., the earliest of their generation, who have been leaders and many still here doing what they do were the group I remember who shouted…”Better Red Than Dead!”
    Katie scored a out of the park home run. Everything ! think but don’t have the ability to express.
    But what I can express is…they need a plinth up their @rse. Had to use a period punctuation as ! is now me. For today only. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yes, and yes, and as the kids say OMG Yes! Good that it’s only for today, hard to keep your fingers trained! or should that be ‘trained, !. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Yes, especially with my fingers. Anyway I had to imagine a reason for not having an ! phone.
        “The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination.” – Albert Einstein
        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Good one, very true it is. I have one, although not an iPhone, but I got my android because it allowed me to reduce my rate considerably, and I do use some of it’s features, but mostly it lays around, not really earning it’s keep. Did save me from buying a new camera, though, so there’s that. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • On the idea of imagination, C. S. Lewis is here one of my most favorite minds! And on Bible and Theology I don’t always agree with Lewis, but I always read what he has to say on almost anything! Like Einstein, who my father loved, they both had great imaginations. And both always cause me to think!

          Liked by 2 people

  4. the unit says:

    I need to ask which article in archives is the one where we discussed intentions and results? I looked through titles back though June and was unable to tell.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Not sure what you’re asking. Can you be a bit more specific, cause I don’t really know what you’re referring to here.

      Like

      • the unit says:

        I can’t remember what the article itself was about, but in the body of the blog you said intentions are not the point. We’re looking at the results. That’s what matters.
        I’d like to know which one it was. Have story and comment I’d like to post there. If possible.
        If not that’s ok. If you off don’t remember off hand, don’t spend time trying to find it.
        I’ve not gotten to today’s post yet. Gosh 29 comments already. Can hardly wait!

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Oh, OK. It was just a general comment on intentions not mattering but results do.

          Like

Leave a Reply

