Persuasion: the Movie

Well, I’m sitting here wondering what to talk about – there’s surely no shortage of things to be either enthused or outraged about, is there. And you know, I decided it’s time for a movie. We used to do them a lot, and as my morale slipped simply got out of the habit.

But why not? This is the 2007 production of Jane Austen’s last complete novel Persuasion, some say the 1995 version is a bit better, but I couldn’t find it. But the people are a bit older, and that suits me, as well. So enjoy, cause I will.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

9 Responses to Persuasion: the Movie

  1. the unit says:

    I admit I’m commenting without watching the movie yet, and likely won’t. ‘Cause I read the plot and don’t care for stories of romance and female conniving. Anyway I read it ends “all’s well that ends well.”
    Wiki says “Austen’s plots often explore the dependence of women on marriage in the pursuit of favourable social standing and economic security. Her works critique the novels of sensibility of the second half of the 18th century and are part of the transition to 19th-century literary realism.” I realize she’s widely acclaimed and it is my loss to not appreciate her and her works.
    OK, Maya Angelou’s sensible realism as professed by her quote is “Most plain girls are virtuous because of the scarcity of opportunity to be otherwise.”- Maya Angelou (No, Maya’s not a favorite. Just happened on some of her quotes of late.)
    Was Austen a “ginger” to interest you so much. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      I haven’t a clue if she was! 🙂 I enjoy her writing, and her use of language, she was enough of a smart aleck to be ginger, in any case. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • the unit says:

        Yeah, I should’ve known. Use of the language and smart aleck too. The Wiki account of her would attest to that, except from her letters ” sometimes acid or forthright comments on neighbors or family members.” 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          Yep, she had a rather caustic sense of humor, and the language skills to make it effective. In truth, “Pride and Prejudice” was assigned in high school, and I hated it, but it was the only readable book on my first reader, so I reread it, and enjoyed it. Guess I had some growing up (or maybe old) to do to appreciate her. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          Yes, the Wiki article was interesting. When I finally get caught up on all my doings and if Kim hasn’t blown us up, I’ll try reading her with these perceptions we’ve discussed in mind. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          If you want to. It’s not my mission to make her even more of a best seller! But I do enjoy her, as a light writer. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • the unit says:

          I imagine the local library will have her books so I won’t be buying. Buying done done for a while. Just paid for new pool liner for wife’s birthday on Tuesday. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • NEO says:

          I hear ya! I’m about done till more money comes in as well! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Jane Austen and Morality | nebraskaenergyobserver

Leave a Reply

