Hurricane Interlude: HMS Pinafore

English: A lithographic poster for one of the ...

English: A lithographic poster for one of the many American productions of H.M.S. Pinafore, mostly unlicenced. Français : Affiche lithographique pour l’une des nombreuses mises en scènes de l’opérette H.M.S. Pinafore. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Look, I’m a realist, and if you’re spending time online today, you’re mostly reading about the hurricane in Florida. In truth, so am I, and I have little to contribute to that. No doubt, we’ll talk about it soon. But right now, I have little to contribute. But we have been seeing already stories about the Royal Navy (and Air Force) and their relief efforts, and soon the United States Navy will also be involved. But if you’ve a little time, perhaps a little classical nonsense, referred to by Bart Simpson, Captain Picard, and Indiana Jones. In other words, the operetta that made Gilbert and Sullivan a watchword, not only in England ( although he certainly was an Englishman) but also in America. First published on 9 August 20015. Enjoy, it’s been one of my greatest pleasures all my life.

I’m in the mood to mostly screw off today, so here’s an old friend, for your (and my) enjoyment.

There’s no deep message intended here, it’s Saturday, and time to wind down from another week. Cause we ain’t gonna fix it before Monday, anyway. So sit back and enjoy some of the first (semi) serious music that I fell in love with as a kid. The old Golden Records survey of music opened a lot of doors for me, and this is one of them.

From the 2005 Proms: HMS Pinafore

Any resemblance to the US Government is (I hope) coincidental,

but I wouldn’t bet much on it.

About NEO
Lineman, Electrician, Industrial Control technician, Staking Engineer, Inspector, Quality Assurance Manager, Chief Operations Officer

5 Responses to Hurricane Interlude: HMS Pinafore

  1. Reblogged this on boudicabpi2015.

    Like

  2. the unit says:

    While hurricanes are still part of the topic, I found an interesting and not unexpected comment by one of the blog authors over at Wunderground Weather while he was discussing Irma. It concerns that we can expect more grey swan hurricanes…”thanks to human-caused climate change.” Human-caused, no gender even designated anymore.
    Grey swans differ from black swans as they’re predictible and preventable…if we would just listen and stop creating so much carbon dioxide so they say. Well, if it’s human-caused I claim the Hillary precedent…it wasn’t intentional so gimme a break too. 🙂
    Yeah, thanks NEO, I’m going to take a break and listen to the music this afternoon sometime.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      Yeah the silly Brit TV people have been handing out that bushwah too. Just can’t see it, just an excuse to hurt the economy some more, like it needs it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. the unit says:

    About the video…
    The coordination of all that talent is amazing! I certainly understand it. My driver side stop light is the only one that the brake petal activates. Had to wire in a doorbell button inline to the passenger side light and push with my thumb as I use my foot on the petal. Talented coordination! Heck, I’m just just imbued with mirth and silliness myself this evening as the hurricane missed me this time. 🙂
    Lookit! Indiana likely gets a tropical depression come Thursday.
    http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/refresh/graphics_at1+shtml/214156.shtml?cone#contents

    Liked by 1 person

    • NEO says:

      It rather is, and I like your solution, not to mention its price! 🙂

      Likely so, been out and haven’t seen the weather lately, but glad you got missed! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

